top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon Herne

Getting to know the Designers and Content Creators

Updated: May 19, 2021

Hey there, Welcome to HopeVale x Queensland University of Technology 2021. We have an amazing mix of talent this year from many of our designers in their final or penultimate years of fashion design while others in the content team study multi-disciplinary courses such as Business, Content and Screen Production, Law as well as Fashion Communications. Coming together has been a process of getting-to-know-you’s with many of us having no idea what goes into the other's degree. It has been really fun working collaboratively to see what everyone can do, and learning new words like bricolage and Usha Doshi. Below we’ve got a little 'about you' from our team who are working tirelessly to create designs authentic to the artists' amazing creativity while also incorporating their own flair into the project, so you can get to know a bit about them too. Steven Kyriazis Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: For this project, I have taken inspiration from the more elegant and beautiful elements of the Australian wetlands, particularly the unique flora that adorns the landscape. Chosen Artists: Madge Bowen and Shane Gibson. Cooper Antsey- Savage Studying: Screen Content Production, minor in Entertainment Industries and Drama Inspired by: Wanting to encourage deeper connections to the land that we all call home and that inspires the artists. Julia Scholtz Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: I am really excited to be using Shane Gibson’s Yellow Petals as a fabric print. I will be using fabric manipulations to create shape and volume for an interesting avant-garde design that brings the artwork to life. Artist: Shane Gibson Tara Daley Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: I have a background in art and history so I take a lot of inspiration from these areas. I am very excited to be working on a project that incorporates Indigenous Art and Culture. I will be responding to Wanda Gibson’s work Barrier Reef III. I hope to channel the colourful spirit of Gibson’s work into an exciting runway garment. Artist: Wanda Gibson Rhiannon Herne Studying: Fashion Communication/Law Inspired by: The unique and extremely important artworks which speak of the land and culture. I am inspired by working creatively and getting the chance to be a part of a large project. Miu Tsujikawa Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: Inspired by flora and fauna. I aspire to create art-like garments as I am passionate about fine arts and craftsmanship. I hope to provide excitement and emotion through these works. The silhouette I’ve made is based upon Wanda Gibson's Barrier Reef. For the collaboration with Brogan Daley we are using Yellow Petals by Shane Gibson. Brogan Daly Studying: fashion design Inspired by: I draw inspiration from the past and look to create something new that will have a meaningful impact on our future. Philosophy, Culture, Sustainability are integral parts of my practice. Artist: Harold Bowen Haley Muller Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: I tend to draw a lot of inspiration from nature, experimenting with organic shapes and silhouettes which is why I’m very excited to be utilising Madge Bowen’s artwork in my design. Artist: Madge Bowen Laura Cheung Studying: Interactive and Visual Arts Inspired by: I started having an interest in all disciplines of design (architecture, interior, games, film, basically anything that involves creativity) during high school. I will literally play around with anything. I look forward to assisting with the creation of a spectacular fashion project. Elinor Hedger Studying: Fashion Design Inspired by: I have a deep love for nature and sustainability, and I find this underpins my design process. I enjoy playing with volume, and my designs are often inspired by the re-interpretation of historical garments. For this project I will be using Gertie Deeral’s new work Bush Narrative. Artist: Gertie Deeral Amelia Lord Inspired by: I wish to use my platform and resources to endorse something that's really important culturally. I am excited at the prospect of using my influence to promote the Hope Vale project. Erika Luu Inspired by: I am inspired by everyone on the team, coming together to showcase such an important subject. The entire collaborative effort is so special and inspiring. I am learning new things every day, especially about art and the Indigenous centre.


Hilde Heim Mentor for the project Inspired by: I'm confused about it - but that's what inspires me and I'm immensely curious about what I don't know! And I'm deeply inspired by Indigenous Culture and what I don't know about it. I want to bridge the gap between students, teachers and community. I want to learn more.


Lydia Pearson Mentor for the project Inspired by: I have come to understand that in my life, design is everything and everything is designed. While the project has run for several years this will be my third time running this wonderful project with so much learning and much left to learn.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction by Cooper Antsey-Savage

Hello everyone! We are a small team of creative students at QUT in Brisbane comprising of young people with varied interests in the arts and creative industries. Some of us will be handling the social

bottom of page